Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Tennessee Democrats Exposed! Some of Them Like Health Care Reform Law

Posted By on Tue, Apr 13, 2010 at 10:37 AM

Republicans are attacking state House Democrats today for voting against a completely pointless resolution urging Congress not to do what it already has done—enact national health care reform.

"These Democrats have been exposed," state GOP chair Chris Devaney is proclaiming in a press release. "This vote proves they favor a trillion-dollar government takeover of our health care system and don't seem to care that the majority of Tennesseans don't support it. They've deserted their constituents and put partisan politics ahead of the welfare of this state."

Twenty-nine Democrats voted against Rep. Susan Lynn's resolution last night. They included Rep. Kent Coleman of Murfreesboro who had the audacity to question the measure's absurd declaration that the federal law "is unnecessary in light of the private sector's product offerings and innovations." Devaney said:

"Opposing Democrats' reckless and irresponsible government takeover of health care hardly makes people cruel and heartless - it makes them sensible and concerned citizens. Further, most voters do support health reform, just not the trillion-dollar disaster that was shoved down the throats of the American people. While Republicans work to stand up for Tennesseans who want their state leaders to send a message to Washington, Democrats like Kent Coleman continue to demonstrate how grossly out-of-touch they are with voters in this state."

Devaney's press release lists the 29 Democrats who incurred the wrath of the Party of No by voting no. We think it's a list of the last remaining House members with any common sense.

Rep. Joe Armstrong (HD-15)
Rep. Stratton Bone (HD-46)
Rep. Willie Butch Borchert (HD-75)
Rep. Tommie Brown (HD-28)
Rep. Karen Camper (HD-87)
Rep. Kent Coleman (HD-49)
Rep. Barbara Cooper (HD-86)
Rep. Lois DeBerry (HD-91)
Rep. Joanne Favors (HD-29)
Rep. Craig Fitzhugh (HD-82)
Rep. Brenda Gilmore (HD-54)
Rep. G.A. Hardaway (HD-92)
Rep. Bill Harmon (HD-37)
Rep. Sherry Jones (HD-59)
Rep. Ulysses Jones (HD-98)
Rep. Mike Kernell (HD-93)
Rep. Larry Miller (HD-88)
Rep. Gary Moore (HD-50)
Rep. Gary Odom (HD-55)
Rep. Joe Pitts (HD-67)
Rep. Mary Pruitt (HD-58)
Rep. Jeanne Richardson (HD-89)
Rep. Johnny Shaw (HD-80)
Rep. Janis Baird Sontany (HD-53)
Rep. Mike Stewart (HD-52)
Rep. Harry Tindell (HD-13)
Rep. Joe Towns (HD-84)
Rep. Johnnie Turner (HD-85)
Rep. Mike Turner (HD-51)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Most Commented On

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation