Monday, March 24, 2014

The Black Keys Debut 'Fever,' Turn Blue Album Details [Fresh Track]

Posted By on Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 1:27 PM

On Friday, Nashville residents, current arena rockers and onetime blues-rooted Akronite duo The Black Keys teased their forthcoming record, Turn Blue, with a cryptic trailer (see it after the jump) and a tweet issued by Mike Tyson. Yes, really. Aside from the album's title (a nod to Cleveland late-night TV personality Ghoulardi) and release date (May 13 via Nonesuch), the teaser didn't offer a whole lot of concrete information.

But that all changes today. The Black Keys have released the first track from Turn Blue — an up-tempo, four-minute, synth-pop-informed, four-on-the-floor number by the name of "Fever" — and you can hear it via the YouTube embed above. The record was co-produced by the band and frequent Keys collaborator Danger Mouse. “We are always trying to push ourselves when we make a record — not repeat our previous work but not abandon it either," says drummer Patrick Carney in a press release. "On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds. We’re excited for the world to hear Turn Blue.”

See the full Turn Blue track list after the jump. The Keys' next slated performance is May's Hangout Fest in Gulf Shores, Ala. — tickets are still available.


Turn Blue tracklist:

1. Weight of Love
2. In Time
3. Turn Blue
4. Fever
5. Year in Review
6. Bullet in the Brain
7. It’s up to You Now
8. Waiting on Words
9. 10 Lovers
10. In Our Prime
11. Gotta Get Away

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation