Thursday, July 5, 2012

D. Watusi Debuts 'Brother and Sister,' Tomorrow Night's Single Release Show at Zombie Shop Will Benefit Family of Joey Jello [Fresh Track]

Posted By on Thu, Jul 5, 2012 at 1:12 PM

Local psychedelic garage rockers D. Watusi have been an ever-present fixture on the local rock scene for about two years now. Seriously, if there's been a bill over the past 18 months that featured far-out rocking and rolling, the Watoos were probably on it. Well, DW recently announced that they'll be releasing their long-awaited debut LP, Dark Party, later this summer, and they premiered their lead-off single, "Brother and Sister," over at Consequence of Sound today. Their "Brother and Sister" 7-inch — backed with a cover of Joy Division's "No Love Lost" — will be out tomorrow, and you can hear both of those tracks below.

In celebration of their 7-inch release — and to kick off their upcoming tour — D. Watusi will play a free show tomorrow night at The Zombie Shop with The Paperhead, Gnarwhal, Ranch Ghost and 62° Latitude. While the cover is indeed $No, donations will be accepted on behalf of Joey Jello's family. You see, Joey Jello was a member of 62° Latitude who was, according to D. Watusi member/Nashville's Dead honcho Ben Todd, "killed early Sunday morning on June 24 in a hit-and-run accident in Austin." Any donations made will go toward "some expenses that [Jello's family] could definitely use help with." Huge bummer, and our condolences go to Joey's friends and family.

As for the D. Watusi tunes, they're crunchy and snotty and informed by everything from Joy Division (obviously) and Talking Heads to The Animals, The Seeds and Can. Give 'em a listen, and see DW's upcoming tour dates after the jump.


Friday July 6 – Nashville, TN – Zombie Shop w/ Ranch Ghost, Gnarwhal, 62Latitude
Saturday July 7 – Chicago, IL – The Burlington w/ CAVE
Sunday July 8 – Detroit, MI – Lager House w/ Bad Indians
Monday July 9 – Cincinnati, OH – The Comet
Tuesday July 10 – Pittsburgh, PA – TBA
Wednesday July 11 – Philadelphia, PA – Cloud City w/ Tough Shits, The Eeries
Thursday July 12 – New York, NY – DBA w/ The Band In Heaven
Friday July 13 – New York, NY – Cake Shop
Saturday July 14 – Washington DC – Monsterrat House
Sunday July 15 – Chattanooga, TN – Barking Legs – Over The Edge screening
Monday July 16 – Atlanta, GA – The 529
Tuesday July 17 – Huntsville, AL – Vertical House Records
Wednesday July 18 – Memphis, TN – The Lamplighter w/ Nots
Thursday July 19 – Fort Worth, TX – Where House w/ Long Shots, Fungi Girls
Friday July 20 – Austin, TX – Trailer Space Records
Saturday July 21 – Austin, TX – Beerland w/ Teenage News, The Best

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

All contents © 1995-2015 CityPress Communications LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of CityPress Communications LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation