Thursday, February 24, 2011

Fresh Tracks: Free Album Downloads From Big Surr, Field Days, Tyler James and More

Posted By on Thu, Feb 24, 2011 at 1:35 PM

Everyone likes free tunes, yes? Everyone likes supporting the locals, yes? Thanks to Internet, I've found a way we can all do both. Below are links to free downloads of EPs and LPs from locals Big Surr, Casa Castile, Field Days, Tyler James and Infinity Cat. I've also embedded some tunes, so you can try it before you buy it. Even though you're buying it for $0. I'm making this really easy for you guys. Just give it a listen.

* For fans of feel-good, lo-fi California pop, I give you Big Surr’s Miss You Most EP. Best Coast enthusiasts, be warned: This one may be directly up your alley. “Alright” and “You Got Somethin’ ” are standouts. Hear "Alright" below. [Download Big Surr’s Miss You Most EP via Mediafire.]

* Our own Lance Conzett already hipped you guys to Casa Castile’s Vake EP months ago, but it bears repeating. I got the chance to catch Andrew Nabuco & Co. live at Tuesday night’s Rock the Block, and I was not disappointed. Incredibly smart, remarkably dense bedroom pop with gorgeous melodies and brilliant instrumentation. Without a doubt, my most-played local release at the moment. Hear "Lights, Flashes" below. [Download Casa Castile’s Vake EP via Mediafire.]

* Heartfelt, intimate folk-pop from Field Days. It’s called Projector, and it features a lot of doubled vocals, improvised percussion and other bedroom-pop tricks. Hear "Half Past Tennessee" below. [Download Field Days’ Projector via New York Groove.]

* Local soul-inflected pop crooner Tyler James offers his It Took the Fire. Methinks I hear some smooth, smooth Wurlitzer parts upon a few of these tracks. (Or maybe it's a Fender Rhodes? Sorry, dudes. I'm not a keys guy.) Think of Ben Folds, Ben Lee or Ben Kweller’s more placid numbers. Hear "All I Got" below. [Download Tyler James’ It Took the Fire via NoiseTrade.]

* And last but most certainly not least, Infinity Cat has a Spring 2011 sampler for you. The mix features a handful of tracks that aren't exactly fresh — tunes from defunct outfits MEEMAW and Cake Bake Betty, for instance — but there are also tunes from folks like Hell Beach, Natural Child, JEFF, PUJOL, Denney and the Jets, FIELDED and more. [Download Infinity Cat’s Spring 2011 MP3 Sampler via JEFF the Brotherhood.]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation