Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Grapefruit Record Club to Release New Albums by Lambchop, Richard Youngs, L. Eugene Methe and 200 Years via Subscription

Posted By on Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 1:13 PM

Hey, there's a new record label, of a sort, and it's called the Grapefruit Record Club. It's a joint venture between Ben Goldberg of Ba Da Bing Records (home to Sharon Van Etten, The Dead C and WOOM, among others) and Omaha songsmith Simon Joyner (remember when he played at a Nashville house?). Here's the deal: You subscribe and get four albums a year — one vinyl-only release every three months. The first year includes a new record by Nashville's most surreal country band, Lambchop, which, if I'm reading this right, is called Turd Goes Back: Essential Tracks from Secret Secret Sourpuss & Hot Tussy, and includes a song called "Music City Shits."

After Lambchop (not sure if that's the actual album art — waiting to hear back), subscribers will get records by Richard Youngs, L. Eugene Methe and 200 Years (Ben Chasny of Six Organs of Admittance and Elisa Ambrogio of Magik Markers), plus a "deluxe hard-shell box" to keep them all in. Nifty.

A US subscription will cost you $90, which works out to $22.50 a record, including shipping and handling — a reasonable price, in this day and age, for a scarce musical commodity. They started taking subscription orders on Thanksgiving, and you can sign up for the first year between now and Valentine's Day 2011. Here's the full release as we received it:

Grapefruit Record Club is a collaborative endeavor of close friends Ben Goldberg (Ba Da Bing Records) and Simon Joyner. At a glance, the record club is a subscription-based label, releasing four unique albums each year. Each new addition to the record club is comprised of brand new material from a featured artist and will be distributed solely in vinyl format.

Grapefruit Record Club’s inaugural year features a diverse group of artists including Lambchop, Richard Youngs, L. Eugene Methe and 200 Years (Ben Chasny (Six Organs of Admittance) and Elisa Ambrogio (Magik Markers)). The label's subscription-only distribution concept allows the established artists to share their audience with the lesser-known artists featured on an annual roster.

A subscription to the record club includes four quarterly released full-length LPs, and a deluxe, hard-shelled box to house the series of records that make up that year’s roster of artists. The artists on Grapefruit are on loan and ever changing so no subscription cycle will ever be the same. Grapefruit's mission is to expose fans to exclusive, challenging new music on vinyl while ensuring that the musicians actually get paid for creating their art.

Apparently there will be some copies of the records available to non-subscribers shortly after release, but if you really want these, I don't know that you want to take that chance. More info here.

Tags: , , , , ,


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation