This is a past event.

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto 

When: Thu., Nov. 3, 7 p.m., Fri., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 5, 8 p.m. 2011
Price: $39-$109
With the holiday season fast approaching, people have likely begun to prepare themselves for the annual onslaught of Yuletide traditions. The Nashville Symphony, however, is planning an unexpected move: While mentions of Tchaikovsky around this time of year often bring thoughts of Russian bakers and militant rats, the symphony is banking on one of the most technically complex violin compositions ever written. Featuring Tokyo-born violinist Karen Gomyo, the Nashville Symphony is presenting Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, a 35-minute blast of unforgettable melodies, mesmerizing craft and intense minimalism. The program also features Borodin’s whimsical yet erratic Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor and Ravel’s Daphnic et Chloé, the “symphonie choréographique” that accompanies the similarly titled ballet. So ignore all your hallucinations of sugarplum fairies and talking nutcrackers and come watch Gomyo, who the Chicago Tribune calls “a first-rate artist of real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity.”
— Matt Fox


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.




All contents © 1995-2015 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation