Narrow Search

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: 1 Star

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

I visited this restaurant with a party of six and was told it would be 25 minutes until we were seated. Over an hour later, we were still waiting. A party of 30 monopolized five tables for several hours since they all straggled in over a 90 minute span. These tables were reserved although we were told the restaurant didn't take reservation. The guest of honor for this party of 30 seemed to know one of the restaurant staff, so I guess they got special privileges. We complained about the wait (other people were being seated the entire time we waited), and received a very snotty response from the manager. We were finally seated, but were given no menus or eating utensils. Unless you have unlimited time and patience, avoid this site.
Rating Detail:
Food: 4
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 3
Overall: 1

Posted by Bunky on 05/10/2009 at 7:43 AM

Re: “Rumba Rum Bar and Satay Grill [Closed]

Pre Dave matthews dinner was horrible, wanted to drop a line to let you know of our first"(and probably last) visit to this establishment. The food was good. Very unique menu , but the service we recieved was beyond poor, it took us 15 min to get our drinks, I had water due to the designated driver. and with 5 bartenders working it took several attempts to get our second round, we had to stop another waitress and ask her to get our drinks. Several people were around us experiencing the same situation. Very poor birthday dinner experience. The concert was good though.
Rating Detail:
Food: 4
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 3
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by henry lehman on 04/26/2009 at 8:12 AM

Re: “Royal Thai

Ive been going to this place for 2 years mainly for lunch ONLY because this is the only thai place around. But NEVER AGAIN and will go out of my way to advice everyone at work the same. The waiter did not explain anything on the menu inspite of us asking for some help on it. Typically I always tip , but this time I did not care much for the service and attitude of the waiter and decided not to Tip him. The waiter CONFRONTED us on this, followed us outside the restuarant, used abussive language with my wife and ASKED US NOT TO VISIT THE PLACE AGAIN. I think I need not explain any further!
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by redcushion on 03/21/2009 at 2:58 PM

Re: “Chappy's

What a disappointment! The blackened shrimp appetizer was like eating a spoonful of salt. The fried oyster platter I could've gotten anywhere. The twice baked potatoes were oily, of all things. All-in-all, the meal was far too expensive for what we expected. The atmosphere was nice enough.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Value: 1
Overall: 1

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by joe saunders on 03/13/2009 at 11:47 AM

Re: “Sole Mio

Nice atmosphere, but that's about it. Rude waitstaff (our large group was automatically gratuitized, so maybe that's why?). Our waiter spilled my glass of wine and I had to ask him to replace it for free (he wanted to charge us). One rude look later, he did eventually bring a new glass on the house. I also ordered the 3 course special. Our waiter instead ticketed the first 2 courses a la carte, which was, of course, more expensive. He tried to charge for the 3rd course, but I just declined the dessert. The food was bland, and more expensive than most Italian restaurants in Nashville. Mama Mia's is much better. Avoid this place.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 5
Value: 1
Overall: 1

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Ronnie O on 02/22/2009 at 10:41 AM

Re: “Giovanni Ristorante

My wife and I went to Giovanni’s for Valentine’s Day. As we were looking over the menu we heard what appeared to be a manager and a customer having an unusually loud disagreement. The dispute relocated close to the front where we heard the customer was upset by something the waiter had said to his wife. Some strong language was used and the customer soon left. We though it was odd, perhaps a misunderstanding but I am sure it didn’t make it any better for the couple that left. On the meal, the appetizer, lobster, was tough. As was my steak, but my wife’s halibut was fantastic. I can say that was one of the best I have ever had. We finished our desert, which we did enjoy as well and then the check came. My wife used her credit card to pay for the meal. When our waiter returned with the card, he apparently noticed her name, and made an insulting comment about it. We were both very upset and quite surprised with what he said. Certainly the tip on our $220 meal fell significantly. We did think it was a rare occasion to see the disagreement that occurred when we first arrived. But to have what happened to us on the same night gave us a very bad feeling about Giovanni’s. On our way out we did explain what happened. We did get an apology, but that really didn’t fix anything. For the money we spent the food quality just wasn’t there. But adding being offended by our waiter to the experience was way over the top. We will not be returning.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by John H on 02/16/2009 at 7:37 AM

Re: “Giovanni Ristorante

My wife and I went to Giovanni’s for Valentine’s Day. As we were looking over the menu we heard what appeared to be a manager and a customer having an unusually loud disagreement. The dispute relocated close to the front where we heard the customer was upset by something the waiter had said to his wife. Some strong language was used and the customer soon left. We though it was odd, perhaps a misunderstanding but I am sure it didn’t make it any better for the couple that left. On the meal, the appetizer, lobster, was tough. As was my steak, but my wife’s halibut was fantastic. I can say that was one of the best I have ever had. We finished our desert, which we did enjoy as well and then the check came. My wife used her credit card to pay for the meal. When our waiter returned with the card, he apparently noticed her name, and made an insulting comment about it. We were both very upset and quite surprised with what he said. Certainly the tip on our $220 meal fell significantly. We did think it was a rare occasion to see the disagreement that occurred when we first arrived. But to have what happened to us on the same night gave us a very bad feeling about Giovanni’s. On our way out we did explain what happened. We did get an apology, but that really didn’t fix anything. For the money we spent the food quality just wasn’t there. But adding being offended by our waiter to the experience was way over the top. We will not be returning.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by John H on 02/16/2009 at 7:36 AM

Re: “Darfons

Management Rules - One check per table...Business must be good as they turned down our Tuesday Night Dinner Club with 25 people.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by Jim Ryan on 02/13/2009 at 2:56 PM

Re: “Giovanni Ristorante

Giovanni's is a Tuscan style restaurant that is located between SouthStreet and Boundry. I was excited to go out to dinner for the evening with a group of girlfriends. This was supposed to be a relaxing and enjoyable evening which turned out to be a disaster. The services was terrible to say the least. We ordered drinks upon arriving and did not receive them for at least 30 minutes. We did not get a menu for another 45 minutes. We could not determine who our waiter was and when someone would come to the talbe to take an order they would interrupt and tell us they had to go attend to another table. To top the evening off we had a friend who had an allergic reaction to the food and the response we received from the staff was unacceptable. I was disappointed all around with the entire evening. The food was decent but way over priced.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by Isse on 01/24/2009 at 7:29 AM

Re: “Giovanni Ristorante

Giovanni's is a Tuscan style restaurant that is located between SouthStreet and Boundry. I was excited to go out to dinner for the evening with a group of girlfriends. This was supposed to be a relaxing and enjoyable evening which turned out to be a disaster. The services was terrible to say the least. We ordered drinks upon arriving and did not receive them for at least 30 minutes. We did not get a menu for another 45 minutes. We could not determine who our waiter was and when someone would come to the talbe to take an order they would interrupt and tell us they had to go attend to another table. To top the evening off we had a friend who had an allergic reaction to the food and the response we received from the staff was unacceptable. I was disappointed all around with the entire evening. The food was decent but way over priced.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by Isse on 01/24/2009 at 7:29 AM

Re: “Sweet Sixteenth, A Bakery

The food is excellent a real gem in the heart of East Nashville. Food is out of this world and is fresh daily.
Rating Detail:
Food: 5
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 4
Overall: 1

Posted by Waylon on 10/01/2008 at 7:31 AM

Re: “Los Arcos

This restaurant started out great, however, their service and friendliness has declined. They don't serve the dishes how and with what they describe in their menu. We were a party of five and all of our ordered dishes had something missing or wrong! I was never offered a refill! My husband had to ask for napkins three times, before we even got them. The manager was rude and not apologetic at all after we endured such at nightmare. And please don't order their Horchata, it was the worst we have ever had.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 3
Value: 1
Overall: 1

0 likes, 2 dislikes
Posted by Lori on 09/13/2008 at 6:44 PM

Re: “Caesar's Ristorante Italiano [Closed]

I only give this a one star for each category, because the site won't permit a lower rating. My wife and I had the worst meal of our lives, EVER, at Caeser's. A can of cold Chef Boy-ar-dee would have been better presented and tasted better than anything that was served. From stale bread, to limpid salad, to completely inedible entrees, the entire meal was horrible. Service (or lack thereof) topped the evening's repast. Having travelled the globe and eaten at third world locales where even sanitation is unknown, I could only wish that we were eating at one of those locales instead of Caesar's.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by Michael on 08/22/2008 at 2:12 PM

Re: “Athens Family Restaurant

My first visit to Athen's will most definitely be my last. I know that things happen and I am perfectly fine with that fact but a simple apology would go a long way. I went in for lunch 8/4/8 and ordered a gyro and a drink. When I opened the sandwich I found a nice, big, greasy looking hair stuck to my pickle. I motioned for one of the waitresses to come to my table. When I pointed out the hair I got no response. Not a single word! The young lady simply took my sandwich and passed it back through the window to the kitchen. I approached the counter and simply asked for a refund. As my hairy sandwich made its way back to the kitchen what appeared to be the donor of the hair in question simply asked the silent young waitress "So, what does he want another pickle!" All I would have asked for was "I am so sorry" or let me get you another sandwich, or Ohh Crap not again! That would have been much better than the non-response received from the waitstaff and the smart remark from the grease monkey in the back.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Scott on 08/05/2008 at 6:57 PM

Sign Up! For the Scene's email newsletters





* required

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation