Narrow Search

  • Show Only

  • Category

  • User Ratings

  • Narrow by Date

    • All
    • Today
    • Last 7 Days
    • Last 30 Days
    • Select a Date Range

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: Cajun: 1 Star

Re: “Ri'Chard's Louisiana Cafe

This was bay far the worst dining experience I have ever had! My wife and I went to Ri'Chards on a Saturday night and the place was nicely filled with locals who seemed to be enjoying the music, but not the high priced lack luster food. I could smell the old frying grease so strongly you think we would have known not to order food either. We got the worse sevice, which included bot getting napkins or silverware. My wife order gumbo (IT WAS SERVED COLD and looked very dark and gritty). The jambalaya was some overcooked boxed rice thaw was cold and mushy with tough overcooked and probably old chicken and sausage. To top it off we got the racist stare the entire time we endured this meal.

AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!!!

3 likes, 3 dislikes
Posted by Mr. Mall on 01/08/2013 at 3:51 PM

Re: “Ri'Chard's Louisiana Cafe

I went on a Sunday morning and couldn't have been more disappointed. The place was still showing signs of the night before. I ordered eggs benedict and got a combination of a cold, dry english muffin, cold ham, something that resembled an processed egg product, flat and tasteless, and topped with a congealed sauce. We were told immediately that they were out of jambalaya and shrimp although others around us were ordering shrimp. I think the community night life and cajun food is probably acceptable and maybe even good, but we we won't go back to find out. I got the impression that because of their reputation, our meal- or lack of, just didn't count. We were charged full price though we didn't eat it. Sorry patrons.

2 likes, 2 dislikes
Posted by Bea Kissner on 05/24/2012 at 5:49 PM

Re: “Chappy's

I cannot understand how this place is still open. My first experience was not very good at all. The food was "warm" at best and felt like most things had already been prepared beforehand and plated as it was ordered. It was not crowded at all.. There were maybe 1-2 other tables occupied. A few months go by and I told myself I would give it one more shot. Worse than the first time. Food was cold, way too expensive for what you get and almost empty again! it just doesn't taste good to me. I will not go back here ever again.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by brandon on 05/12/2010 at 4:23 PM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

I am 100% Cajun from Lafayette La, and just moved here. My 1st trip to this restaurant was just OK, food not great. Tables were close and we were getting bumped frequently. Why, I'll never know, but I took my wife and 20 yr old daughter there. Horrible experience. Will never go back. Rude waitress. Freezing. Would not reseat us to a table not directly under a vent. Never got to the food, but stand by my 1st trip there. Average.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by David Breaux on 08/28/2009 at 10:29 AM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

Bad food...the stuffed shrimp is not what you would expect. The service was poor and the place seemed dirty.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by freeman on 06/22/2009 at 9:07 PM

Re: “French Quarter Cafe [Closed]

If you are looking for good cajun food and good entertainment go somewhere else. The food was of poor quality and the live music was worse. I would not suggest this cafe to anyone. Very disappointed.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by Andy on 06/07/2009 at 7:33 AM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

I visited this restaurant with a party of six and was told it would be 25 minutes until we were seated. Over an hour later, we were still waiting. A party of 30 monopolized five tables for several hours since they all straggled in over a 90 minute span. These tables were reserved although we were told the restaurant didn't take reservation. The guest of honor for this party of 30 seemed to know one of the restaurant staff, so I guess they got special privileges. We complained about the wait (other people were being seated the entire time we waited), and received a very snotty response from the manager. We were finally seated, but were given no menus or eating utensils. Unless you have unlimited time and patience, avoid this site.
Rating Detail:
Food: 4
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 3
Overall: 1

Posted by Bunky on 05/10/2009 at 7:43 AM

Re: “Chappy's

What a disappointment! The blackened shrimp appetizer was like eating a spoonful of salt. The fried oyster platter I could've gotten anywhere. The twice baked potatoes were oily, of all things. All-in-all, the meal was far too expensive for what we expected. The atmosphere was nice enough.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Value: 1
Overall: 1

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by joe saunders on 03/13/2009 at 11:47 AM

Sign Up! For the Scene's email newsletters





* required

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation