Narrow Search

  • Show Only

  • Category

  • User Ratings

  • Narrow by Date

    • All
    • Today
    • Last 7 Days
    • Last 30 Days
    • Select a Date Range

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: Fast Casual: 1 Star

Re: “Joe's Place

My friends and I have been here quite a few times for karaoke and have had a good time. We had let slide, the bartender being rude to us a few times cause we had fun while we were here but it's gotten out of hand. Last night, the bartender actually told my friend that "if he didn't tip her, she wasn't going to serve him", but this was when he went and ordered his first drink. She eventually started telling everyone at the bar that we weren't tipping her(even though I had already left her a dollar for each beer I had). I went up to pay my last tab and heard everyone around me talking about one of the guys I was with, talking about he wasn't going to get any more beer. He wasn't even drunk. Next thing I knew, we were being recorded on someone's phone while he called us "non tipping mother fu*kers". I went and said something to them and the girl got up and was arguing with me. Then the guy who works there, threw me in a choke hold(keep in mind I'm 5'2). I ended up punching a guy who told me "I was a dead motherfu*cker", then I was grabbed by the throat, again, by the guy who works there and escorted out. Needless to say, My friends and I will never be back to this bar. I don't know how they are able to have such rude service.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Jaime Hilliard on 08/17/2014 at 12:58 PM

Re: “Bricktop's

Run away if anyone asks you to go to brunch there. The decor is the best thing I can say about this place. For the first time in my life, I left a restaurant hungry and had to get something to eat afterwards after spending $60 at this culinary dump! I ordered the hueos rancheros which was two eggs laced with a little sauce on two corn tortillas. It was six bites and nothing else on the plate. No black beans no salso and no chorizo as advertised on the menu. I should have sent it back the minute I saw it. Unbelievable. I should have taken a picture with my cell phone. You would not have believed it.

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Disappointed and Ripped Off on 06/29/2014 at 9:35 PM

Re: “Caney Fork River Valley Grille

WARNING: Unacceptable - NO service.

We arrive at approximately 11:30 on Sunday morning and requested a table for two. The table we were offered was not want we wanted so we asked for another (note: only 3 other parties were in the establishment). The greater apparently did not like our request and mumbled something, but she did seat us at the table we requested.

We waited and waited, no one came to wait on us. Twice we requested service from passing wait staff. Neither responded. After 20 minutes and at 4 new parties being seated and served their meal, we left.

Posted by Randy on 06/29/2014 at 12:41 PM

Re: “Brewhouse West

So apparently if you are gay then you are not welcome here at all. Twice now I have been told I have to leave because of my sexual orientation. I have not bothered anyone else, nor have I forced my beliefs on anyone because I believe everyone has their right to their own opinion. I can not say I have had a good experience here ever. Some of the staff are okay but overall the faculty are assholes who will not listen to a thing you say to defend yourself and try to make matters easy. Instead they will tell you that you have to leave because of your orientation. This place is a close minded faction that I can only hope will be closed down soon because of their mindless opinions.

1 like, 1 dislike
Posted by Brian Buttrey on 06/28/2014 at 12:20 AM

Re: “Elliston Place Soda Shop

Excellent southern style meat and three in terms of variety, quality and flavor of food.Turkey and dressing,fried squash,turnip greens,etc.GREAT milk shakes, malts,banana splits made with Purity products. good service. 1950 style soda counter and tables.

Posted by Steven Baker on 06/15/2014 at 1:43 PM

Re: “Commodore Grill

I don't know about the music -- but the food is mediocre at best and the drinks -- $10 for a glass of watery, tasteless sangria, really?

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Dana Costner on 01/20/2013 at 4:03 PM

Re: “Ri'Chard's Louisiana Cafe

This was bay far the worst dining experience I have ever had! My wife and I went to Ri'Chards on a Saturday night and the place was nicely filled with locals who seemed to be enjoying the music, but not the high priced lack luster food. I could smell the old frying grease so strongly you think we would have known not to order food either. We got the worse sevice, which included bot getting napkins or silverware. My wife order gumbo (IT WAS SERVED COLD and looked very dark and gritty). The jambalaya was some overcooked boxed rice thaw was cold and mushy with tough overcooked and probably old chicken and sausage. To top it off we got the racist stare the entire time we endured this meal.

AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!!!

3 likes, 3 dislikes
Posted by Mr. Mall on 01/08/2013 at 3:51 PM

Re: “B.B. King's Blues Club

WORST service EVER. Tried to have dinner before Americana Awards show. Waitress screwed up drink order (didn't know the difference between Pale Ale and Dos Perros) Food didn't arrive 45 minutess after placing order and ended up going to panera and being late for show.

Posted by local dude on 09/13/2012 at 3:55 PM

Re: “Ri'Chard's Louisiana Cafe

I went on a Sunday morning and couldn't have been more disappointed. The place was still showing signs of the night before. I ordered eggs benedict and got a combination of a cold, dry english muffin, cold ham, something that resembled an processed egg product, flat and tasteless, and topped with a congealed sauce. We were told immediately that they were out of jambalaya and shrimp although others around us were ordering shrimp. I think the community night life and cajun food is probably acceptable and maybe even good, but we we won't go back to find out. I got the impression that because of their reputation, our meal- or lack of, just didn't count. We were charged full price though we didn't eat it. Sorry patrons.

2 likes, 2 dislikes
Posted by Bea Kissner on 05/24/2012 at 5:49 PM

Re: “Bricks Café

HAIR IN MY FOOD!
First off--let me say that I WAS a loyal customer to Bricks. We eat at the Brentwood location probably 3-5 times/ month and we also eat at or get take-out from the Nolensville Road location 3-5 times/month for the past year+.

This past Sunday, while I was dining at the Brentwood/Franklin Road location with family, we had the worst experience and because of it, will NOT be dining at Bricks ever again.

I found a nasty hair in my steamed vegetables. It was so intertwined into a piece of broccoli that when I picked up the hair, the broccoli came with it. Now, I will admit that I have medium length hair and it was not pulled back that afternoon. However, if my hair fell onto the plate, one would think that I would be able to pick the hair up off the top of the food and remove it. This piece of hair, as I stated before, was intertwined in the head of the broccoli. I doubt it fell off of my head and got that tangled around a piece of food.

I called the manager (who might also be the owner? tall, big belly, bad attitude) over to the table to show him the hair in my food. The only word (besides jerk) that comes to mind is completely APATHETIC! He could care less. I wasn't rude, I wasn't ugly, I wasn't really even that upset. I just wanted him to know that somehow hair was getting into their food. Because, let's get real--mistakes happen. His reaction----"there is no way that could have happened. Our vegetables come to us fresh in a sealed bag." Okay--so a human with hair doesn't package them? A human with hair doesn't get them out of the package when they are cooked? A human with hair doesn't plate them? He NEVER apologized. He acted as if he could care less. He didn't offer to refund the meal....nothing! In fact, I saw him over behind the hostess stand talking to our server & the hostess with a look of total smirk on his face. After that point, our server never spoke to us as she came back to the table. No offer for refills, nothing. They, of course, did not refund the meal. As we were leaving, the hostess just looked at us and did not speak. They acted as if we did something wrong. The manager/owner saw us getting up from our table and turned and walked to the back of the restaurant so he wouldn't have to talk to us as we were leaving.

Last I checked, the restaurant business is pretty competitive. Obviously, this guy doesn't care. The worst customer service I have seen in a long time. Because of his bad attitude (not the hair), they have lost our business.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by megant on 12/20/2011 at 3:51 PM

Re: “B.B. King's Blues Club

Average food, bad service, crummy plastic decor...not really what you'd expect at these prices. The music was just...OK.
I'm sure they just rent BB Kings name and that he doesn't have anything to do woth the running of the place. better take a loom Riley! Its your name on the marquee!

Posted by CITYBOY on 09/21/2011 at 4:26 PM

Re: “Urban Flats [Closed]

Over priced. I also asked if they validated parking in the garage, was told they did, but then really they didn't validate. I hate having to pay for parking at an establishment I'm already giving money to. Valet was not there that day either.

Posted by transplant on 03/05/2011 at 9:52 PM

Re: “Joe's Place

I ordered a grilled chicken salad at Joe's and the chicken wasn't cooked. I'm not talking like slightly pink...it was still raw! I know a sports bar is probably not a place to have high expectations for food, but come on! Cook your meat!

0 likes, 2 dislikes
Posted by MiaM on 08/22/2010 at 3:16 AM

Re: “Mad Donna's

food was mediocre, service was terrible, parking was impossible. will not be back.

Posted by lovemesomefood on 04/28/2010 at 9:18 AM

Re: “Jackson's Bar And Bistro

While seemingly chill- Jackson's has a tendency to add-on to its bill. The past two times I have been to Jackson's once at the bar and once outside dining, my bank account showed an increase in the final number of my bill, above the tip. The employees at this resturant add to your bill so they can pocket it. I called the manager who was busy- and never called back...Beware and pay for the sub-standard food with cash.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Ashley on 08/31/2009 at 10:44 AM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

I am 100% Cajun from Lafayette La, and just moved here. My 1st trip to this restaurant was just OK, food not great. Tables were close and we were getting bumped frequently. Why, I'll never know, but I took my wife and 20 yr old daughter there. Horrible experience. Will never go back. Rude waitress. Freezing. Would not reseat us to a table not directly under a vent. Never got to the food, but stand by my 1st trip there. Average.
Rating Detail:
Food: 2
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by David Breaux on 08/28/2009 at 10:29 AM

Re: “Joe's Place

Great place to go if you like being sucker punched and called "faggots" by the owner and bouncer. I'm told the owner is good friends with many area cops and enjoys getting blasted drunk at his bar and then starting fights with guys who don't regularly drink there. This seems true considering the cop who took statements told us we'd never win if we pressed charges, but that he's is forced to show up there a lot because of these issues. The "bouncer" hit me so hard that my shoes flew off and I was soon covered in blood. He was 6'5" and weighed about 300lbs but somehow was able to claim it was self defense. I'm 5'8" and 160lbs...right...
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Value: 1
Overall: 1

1 like, 2 dislikes
Posted by Jared on 08/15/2009 at 6:14 PM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

Bad food...the stuffed shrimp is not what you would expect. The service was poor and the place seemed dirty.
Rating Detail:
Food: 1
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 1
Overall: 1

Posted by freeman on 06/22/2009 at 9:07 PM

Re: “Cajun Steamer Bar & Grill

I visited this restaurant with a party of six and was told it would be 25 minutes until we were seated. Over an hour later, we were still waiting. A party of 30 monopolized five tables for several hours since they all straggled in over a 90 minute span. These tables were reserved although we were told the restaurant didn't take reservation. The guest of honor for this party of 30 seemed to know one of the restaurant staff, so I guess they got special privileges. We complained about the wait (other people were being seated the entire time we waited), and received a very snotty response from the manager. We were finally seated, but were given no menus or eating utensils. Unless you have unlimited time and patience, avoid this site.
Rating Detail:
Food: 4
Service: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Value: 3
Overall: 1

Posted by Bunky on 05/10/2009 at 7:43 AM

Sign Up! For the Scene's email newsletters





* required

All contents © 1995-2014 City Press LLC, 210 12th Ave. S., Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of City Press LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Powered by Foundation